Howard Hanna Professionals
Barnes and Rogers named Athletes of the Year

Barnes and Rogers named Athletes of the Year

By: Ed Weaver  /  June 6, 2012

Seniors Chase Barnes and Raina Rogers were named Male and Female Athletes of the Year Tuesday night at the Annual Wellsboro Hornets Sports Booster Club banquet.

The banquet started off with Mike Pietropola, Head of Athletics, and Booster Club President Sandy Mead addressing the packed Wellsboro High School auditorium crowd. After the crowd was addressed, the Booster Club selected Senior Marissa Cornell and Rogers as winners of the $500.00 Booster Club scholarship.

The winner of the Wellsboro Gridders Club $500.00 scholarship was Senior Chase Barnes.

After the scholarships were announced, all teams were introduced and recognized for their accomplishements throughout the 2011-12 season. Following the team introductions, the Booster Club's annual Memorial Awards and Special Awards were presented.

Special Awards

The U.S. Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete awards were presented to Seniors Erika Wilson and Bob Owlett.

The Babe Ruth Good Sportsmanship awards were presented to Seniors Victoria Pearson and Pat Parsons.

The School Spirit awards were presented to Dré McCants and Morgan Jimenez.

The District IV PIAA Sportsmanship awards were presented to Erika Wilson and Sam Mitchell.

The PIAA District IV awards were presented to Taylor Acorn and Bob Owlett.

Memorial Awards

The Roger Dibble Memorial Award is given in memory of Roger Dibble who was a varsity wrestler at WHS from 1961-1964. The 2011-12 recipient is Brandon Owlett.

The Ray Strykowski Memorial Award is presented to a female basketball player in memory of Coach Strykowski who coached the Wellsboro Lady Hornets. The 2011-12 recipient is Mackenzie Marple.

The Larue Wilson Memorial Award is presented to a male basketball player in memory of Mr. Wilson who passed away in September 1973. The 2011-12 recipient is Jordan Jackson.

The John Wilcox Memorial Award is given to a member of the varsity football team who has exhibited the desire and the drive to develop fully his playing potential and sportsmanship, and has demonstrated the sincerity and the devotion which truely characterized John's approach to this goal. The 2011-12 recipient is Jake Page.

The Rev. Wade Stewart Memorial Award is given to a member of the varsity football team in memry of Samuel Wade Stewart who served the people of Wellsboro until his passing in 1988. The 2011-12 recipient is Chase Barnes.

The Laura Grove Patterson Memorial Award is given to the top player of the girls' tennis team in memory of Ms. Patterson who served on the faculty at Wellsboro High School. The 2011-12 recipient is Kiana Acorn.

The Shelly Taynton Memorial Award is given to a lady who is the member of the senior class. The 2011-12 recipient is Mikayla Palmer-Bacon.

The Male Athlete of the Year and Female Athlete of the Year awards are given in memory of John Antoine Prevost who was born on May 9, 1935. He lived most of his life in Wellsboro where he is remembered as an outstanding student leader athlete, and positive example to his school and community. The 2011-12 recipients are Chase Barnes and Raina Rogers. would like to congratulate all award winners, athletes, coaches, and teams on a successful 2011-12 sports season.


About the Author

Ed Weaver Author Bio

Ed Weaver

Ed Weaver is the owner of Circle W Sports in Wellsboro, PA, is the Sports Director for The Home Page Network and the creator of and You can follow him on Twitter or friend him on Facebook.

Howard Hanna Professionals
Shop Wellsboro Hornet Gear on our BSN Sports Team Store